Three Reasons to Leave

Saying that I should not vote to leave because of opinions about particular individuals is an argument ad hominem which doesn’t address the crux of the issue, and therefore is irrelevant to me.

510750075_eeee488cd6_zOn June 23rd, 2016, I will be voting to support the notion that Great Britain should leave the EU.  As an educated liberal and humanist, many of my friends and colleagues are surprised, even appalled at my decision.  Although I disagree with them, I respect their right to passionately hold different views.  However, I have set out my considered reasons for intending to vote for Brexit below.

Before coming on to reasons for voting to leave I need to comment on two reasons that are sometimes given for staying.

I am told that the people who are voting to leave are disreputable types whereas those wanting to stay are much more likeable.  I am sure that both camps have angels and devils.  Saying that I should not vote to leave because of opinions about particular individuals is an argument ad hominem which doesn’t address the crux of the issue, and therefore is irrelevant to me.

The Remain campaign have majored on the economic argument and stated that the country would be much poorer off if it leaves the EU.  I have several problems with this position.  First, it is uncertain.  All the economic experts have been notoriously wrong with their predictions in the past.  Economics is not an exact science.  Secondly, the rest of the world is unlikely to want to stop trading with us, and freedom from the EU opens up other possibilities.  Thirdly, even if correct, it is likely to be short-term, and doesn’t take into account the future uncontrolled immigration infrastructure costs.

My main reasons for wanting to leave are threefold.

First, although I voted to join the Common Market, I would not today vote to join the organisation that the EU has become.  I suspect that most Britons would today not vote to join an organisation that represented a reduction in sovereignty, uncontrolled immigration, and an unelected beaurocracy.  If I wouldn’t vote to join, why should I vote to stay?

Secondly, although I am grateful for the way immigration has enriched the UK and provided much needed labour, I cannot support uncontrolled immigration.  As a country we have limited resources and cannot afford it.  Already our schools and national health service are creaking under the strain.  Leaving the EU gives us more chance of imposing sensible controls.

Thirdly, the EU has become too big and is largely ineffective on things that matter.  It hasn’t been able to solve the economic problems of the members in the South or the refugee problems of the members in the North.  It is a costly, ineffective organisation.

I resent the accusation that I am being racist or ‘little minded’ for supporting Brexit.  I want the UK to embrace the world and welcome restricted immigration.  And I want us to regain more control over our choices and resources.

 

 

Leave a Reply

